top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTristanMX

Global Game Jam 2018

Updated: Jan 31, 2018


There's no doubt that surprises in this kind of events are given but to be honest, I wasn't expecting much of my participation. It's my first time at the Global Game Jam event and I can widely say I'm very pleased with the results as well as with the collaboration environment. People was amazing. I came expecting to work all by myself because most of the participants worked with Unity and I'm not skillful enough in it to create a decent game, so I chose Construct 3 in this time and considering that my drawing skill are limited too, I decided to draw pixel art in Gimp. Fortunately a team of students were brave enough to invite a stranger and we made an amazing team, all of us were first timers in this event. We knew little Unity and since I felt more comfortable in Construct I taught them the tool in a couple of hours. For my best luck, Frida and Angel (my homonym) resulted to be amazing at art and with so little time they did great, and Maury who is an enthusiast of servers, backend and network programming. As if it was planned, all of our skills fitted like a custom made suit and the resulting product was stonnishing for us! (Considering it is our very first GGJ and all of us new in the industry).


This experience just got me hooked and I'm eager to participate again in a Jam hopefully with the same team or new people with this much enthusiasm and passion for what they did.


What was the theme?

This year GGJ chose TRANSMISSION as the main topic and selecting the right mechanic costed us over 4 hours but at the end we were very happy with our strategy.


What did we do?

A platform game that uses gravity and main character body transmission to complete a set of mini levels were you can achieve up to 3 stars.


I don't want to extend your reading but only invite you to see the final result of this over 48 hrs non-sleep and non-stop event. I'm looking forward to turn this fun exercise into a real fun and playable game that may eyecaught  many players.
Play at Newgrounds: BLUE HELIOS GGJ2018 Newgrounds
Global Game Jam 2018 Game Entry: Blue Helion at GGJ Official Page
Gameplay Video

Game footage




Thanks!

-TristanMX

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moving On

Hi there Dear Visitor, You may have noticed the change in the URL we recently implemented, I'm starting my very own studio and its primary focus will be on training Kids on how to develop their own ga

bottom of page