top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTristanMX

The Beginning



10 years had passed since the last time I researched for a game degree, at that time not much options were available. I looked for University Pompeu du Fabra, asked for requisites but the time and money wasn't right for me to begin. It's quiet sad to look back and see for how long I haven't been able to start on what I feel is my passion but things had changed, responsibilities are also at a new level and I was able to finally fund my master degree in Videogame Design and Development but this time I enrolled at VIU. Time is an issue, my current job demands a lot of additional work and the master is quiet demanding, if you had the fact that you have to recall tons of stuff we saw at school like lineal algebra you have a rough walk through. Nevertheless, skills come from practicing and dedication and I'm committed to achieve it.


By now I've been 3 months in the master, I've to say that I look at videogames differently now, I appreciate them more because of all the work and complexity behind each master piece. I had been practicing my 2D pixel art a lot, since I'm not very skillful with my hands I decided to cover my raw drawings with pixels (LOL) this has opened a path that I feel comfortable with and I can say that I've been improving a lot lately. Shading in pixel art is tough, but looking at other artist work gives me more ideas of how are they appreciating its environment and what techniques did they use to reflect in a drawing what is on their mind.


Here are some pictures of my progression, from very raw and horrible drawings to a decent but not good pixel art characters and levels.


Hope you enjoy and thanks for reading.


Main Character of IQuit

Grannies

Some improves of those drawings next:

Main Character

Granny

Some minor improves were mad, scale, shading, orientation but they still bad so I decided to keep practicing.


This was a huge step forward, since I'm not good at drawing persons I took as foundation a picture of a man screaming that I found on the web, then mark it over a GIMP layer and started sketching and adding what I wanted the drawing to look like. Shading is still lame but my first steps were taken here.


I decided to take it further and then I met isometric pixel art, I found it beautiful and wanted to try it, first with some regular shapes and easy forms like cubes, chairs and boxes. My perspective here is not the best but at least gave me some idea of how should I start thinking of my drawings if looked on an isometric perspective.



Looks way better than my granny LOL and I kept going.

My next step was to try some decent character design and inspired in those little RPG characters I tried my best and drawn these:


I have to remark the fact that I'm not an artist and it isn't my intention to become one but since I'm developing games by myself so far, help is limited and I have to become a Game Generalist, I don't know it that term even exist but practicing is everything.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moving On

Hi there Dear Visitor, You may have noticed the change in the URL we recently implemented, I'm starting my very own studio and its primary focus will be on training Kids on how to develop their own ga

bottom of page